top of page

Freiberg Brauhausfest

Today I went to the Freiberg Brauhausfest. This is held every year at the Brewery in my city (yes my city Freiberg is known for making their own beer, it's so cool). At this festival they had performances from singers/bands, rides, food, and of course drinks (FREIBERG BEER). The festival spans over the whole weekend, but we went Saturday evening/night. The Bauhausfest reminds me a lot of the fair's in America, just instead of being based around farm animals, it is based around beer.

I went to the festival with Mette, and there we met up with other another girl named Franzi (her full name is Franziska). First we walked around the whole area to see what there was to do. While doing this Mette and Franzi would constantly run into people and friends that they knew. We stopped by a ride called "BreakDance" where pairs got into carts that spun around while the platform in which the carts were on also spun around. Mette and Franzi rode it once while I on-looked. I was starting to build up an appetite so we went back to the food section of the festival so that I could get some Freiberg Beer and a Bratwurst. Classic Germany. Of course I practiced my ordering in German, which although was not perfect, got me what I wanted, so overall I would say it was successful. The food and beer was very delicious, and surprisingly I have really enjoyed all the different beers I have tried here thus far. Post Beer and Bratwurst we also got Potato spirals (on a stick) with salt. Again, SO GOOD. I am definitely going to get fat here.

After food we went back to the ride "BreakDance" were we all rode it multiple times. A couple of times I rode with some of Mette friends. Something that I have noticed here is that everyone here that is around my age can speak fairly good English (even after a couple of beers hahah {at Mette's friend}). Both of the girls I sat with on BreakDance were very nice and I enjoyed talking to them in-between screams and laughs. Mette, Franzi, and I also met up with another friend, Pauline, who we also enjoyed a drink with after stopping by Mette's parents to check in and tell them everything we good.

Finally we ended the night dancing and singing with the crowds, by the stages (there were two). This I found probably the most enjoyable because the atmosphere was just so fun. They played old and popular German songs that everyone (except for me because I don't know the words nor can really speak German) knew and sang along too, danced, enjoyed their beer, etc.

We started walking back toward home after this since it was getting pretty late. Luckily though Franzi's dad came in his car and picked us up since the Brewery was on the outskirts of town and about a 2 mile walk home. When I got back home I was so tired that I didn't even bother to take a shower. Instead I just changed and went straight to bed!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page